International Society For Endangered Cats

A Voice For The Wild Cats of the World

Member Photos: Snow Leopard

We are always happy to showcase wild cat photos on this blog, so if you have any pictures you to brag about, please email them to  isec@wildcatconservation.org. Click on photos to enlarge.

ISEC Canada member Ben Williams in the United Kingdom has sent us more wild cat photos, this time the beautiful snow leopards at Marwell Wildlife Park in Hampshire.

Snow leopards have always been one of my favorite wild cats. When I was volunteering at our local zoo, the vet was checking two young snow leopard cubs. She picked one up, handed him to me, and told me to hold him while she examined the other one. So I’m standing there holding this young snow leopard who is chuffing away, nuzzling my neck and chewing on my hair. Another volunteer asked if she could hold him and I said no. Not my finest sharing moment, but hey – there was another one there for her to hold. And if the chance ever arose, I’d do the same thing again!

Just look at those paws…:-)

You can see more of Ben’s photographs on his website at www.naturalencounters.co.uk and to learn more about the conservation of these highly endangered cats, visit the Snow Leopard Trust website.

Posted by Pat Bumstead

2 responses to “Member Photos: Snow Leopard

  1. Lesley Stevenson December 19, 2011 at 10:11 am

    Thank you for these photos of the gorgeous snowies, a firm favourite of mine

  2. prairiebirder December 19, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Very nice photos, Snow Leopards are beautiful animals.

