International Society For Endangered Cats

A Voice For The Wild Cats of the World

Flying Cheetah

Chance, in Flight

Cheetahs are the fastest land mammal. However, at top speed, part of their stride has all four feet are in the air. This is called the “floating phase” of their run.

Flying Sara

Cincinnati Zoo cat ambassadors Chance (top) and Sarah (bottom) demonstrate their flight capability.

2 responses to “Flying Cheetah

  1. Douglas Skoyles October 3, 2011 at 9:36 am

    While everyone speaks of the speed of the cheetah, I once was able to see the serene stillness of the fleetest of all land animals. Many years ago at the Calgary Zoo a cheetah was kept on a grassy hillock behind high school yard chain link fence. I sat down almost leaning on the fence and waited. A beautiful fully grown cheetah chose to walk toward me and sat down just on the other side of the fence. He looked at me and then turned his head and just sat. We contemplated the universe together. Finally I had to leave and, when I did, he strolled back to a spot away from the fence. I never saw him again but we had enjoyed a short time of genuine communion that it seemd we both enjoyed.

